My Experience Coming Out (Part 3)

I didn’t mean to, but my close friend Russ was sitting in my office, talking about his relationship status, and when he asked me how I was doing, and what was new, I blurted out:

“I am bisexual. I am going on a date on Friday, with a woman. And I’m really nervous and scared and excited.”

While the news came out of left field, and I should probably work on the delivery, he took it in stride, because that’s the kind of friends we are. We met a few years ago at non-profit working with troubled youth, and have somehow both transitioned to working at the same community college, teaching different subjects. We spend a good bit of time together talking about vulnerable parts of our life, and so it felt natural to share with him, though it was out of left field.

And then, in a stroke of beauty, he shared some beautiful and hard parts of his identity and relationship happening right now, and it felt so nice to be loved and supported by a friend, and to share in his life. It’s these simpatico relationships that I love so much. There’s no sexual element involved, but our connection is deep, and I feel so grateful to have him in my life.

And so there you have it. The second person, IRL, that I have told about who I am, and where I am headed. And so far so good…

Leave a Reply

